Month: December 2014

  • TOP TEN WAITING ROOM MAGAZINES by Ed Kaz

    Last week. There I was.  Sitting in the gastroenterologist’s waiting room anxiously waiting to find out just how big my newly-discovered gallstones were.   They weren’t calling me right away so I figured I’d pass the time by gandering at their magazine selection.  On the top of the pile was“Cancer Today.”  What’s the perfect casual read for any nervous patient waiting for his or her results?  Why, “Cancer Today” of course.  But in all fairness, this was a pretty good issue: “The World’s Sexiest Endocrinologist.”

    When I finally put down “Cancer Today”  it suddenly dawned on me:  If they can have a fine periodical like that in the waiting room, then why not these?

    From the home office at the Mayo Clinic...

    TOP TEN MAGAZINES THAT SHOULD BE FOUND IN THE  GASTROENTEROLOGIST’S WAITING ROOM:

    10: US News and Lab Report

    9. Martha Stewart Dying

    8. PUSS Weekly

    7. Better Rest Homes and Gardens

    6. Newsweak

    5. Seventeen (Days to Live)

    4. Car and Tumor

    3. National Laparoscopic

    2. Field and Urine Stream

    AND THE NUMBER ONE MAGAZINE THAT SHOULD BE FOUND IN THE GASTROENTEROLOGIST’S WAITING ROOM IS:

    1. Bleeder’s Digest

     

    ---- Ed Kaz

    CANCER TODAY